Rehearsal of the Futures: Police Training Exercises

Rehearsal of the Futures: Police Training Exercises

Isaac Chong Wai

2 June (Sat) | 3:30-5:00pm
3 June (Sun) | 12:00-1:00pm

DETAIL
99 Sajadah Merah

99 Sajadah Merah

Tisna Sanjaya

1 June (Fri) | 7:30-9:00pm
3 June (Sun) | 4:30-5:30pm

DETAIL
My Hong Kong Friends

My Hong Kong Friends

Duan Yingmei

2 June (Sat) | 12:00-1:30pm
3 June (Sun) | 1:30-2:30pm

DETAIL
Cleansing Service

Cleansing Service

River Lin

1 June (Fri) | 7:30-10:00pm
2 June (Sat) | 12:00-5:00pm
3 June (Sun) | 12:00-5:30pm

DETAIL

wen yau

A Drop and Two Dots: Everything Must Go! (Homage to All Peaceful Revolutionaries)

2 June (Sat), 2:00-3:00pm

In this newly commissioned performance, wen yau examines the value of owning and belonging to one’s land. Property in Hong Kong is among the most expensive and sought after in the world, and the performance encourages the public to consider how the commodity of their city is evaluated, using the site of the West Kowloon Cultural District as the primary focus. Drawing from both the history of this reclaimed terrain and what it currently represents, wen yau builds a collection of natural and found objects from the West Kowloon construction project and allows the public to view, value, and bid on these items during a performance reminiscent of a property expo. Instead of residential models and floor plans, elements from the land are displayed for consideration, including discarded architectural materials, one square foot of soil, and detritus from the M+ building, the Xiqu Centre, the Promenade, and the Nursery Park. Each of these ‘pieces of property’is accompanied by a certificate detailing where it was extracted, its original intended purpose, the date of its collection, and its estimated value. By displaying these goods throughout the gallery in the manner of a performative auction and inviting the audience to participate, wen yau challenges how both property and cultural values are established and asks, given the realities of Hong Kong’s current market structures, can these pieces of land ever really belong to us?

wen yau

wen yau is a cross-disciplinary artist and researcher who has focused her career in performance art, often confronting issues of cultural difference, authenticity, and social relationships. By intervening in public, she directly addresses pressing contemporary concerns with her body and voice, and has developed a unique artistic language drawn from her strong desire for social change and justice. Her internationally performed and exhibited works, including the Civil Left/ Right series (2007–), the Homage to All Peaceful Revolutionaries series (2015–), and the co-initiated projects Talkover/Handover (2007) and Talkover/Handover 2.0 (2017), are deeply rooted in their local, immediate contexts. As an artist and researcher, wen yau conducted the pioneering project Hong Kong Performance Art Research from 2005 to 2006 and co-founded Woofer Ten, a local art space advocating social practice. wen yau received a Fulbright fellowship as a visiting scholar of Performance Studies at Northwestern University from 2015 to 2016 and recently completed her PhD on performative practice in postcolonial Hong Kong art and activism at the Academy of Visual Arts, Hong Kong Baptist University.
  


Isaac Chong Wai

Rehearsal of the Futures: Police Training Exercises 

2 June (Sat), 3:30-5:00pm
3 June (Sun), 12:00-1:00pm


Isaac Chong Wai takes the history of protests—through its repetitive expressions and actions—as a point of departure in this newly commissioned performance. Rehearsal of the Futures: Police Training Exercises is a continuation of Chong’s investigation into imagined futures and how, through certain movements and postures, past ideology can be interpreted and improved upon by future generations. Chong’s research into police training exercises around the world also questions the development of these actions and their intended use: are they meant as a first line of defence, or a last resort? Chong and a group of performers enact choreographed sets of movements based on past altercations at protest sites and training exercises taught at police academies, but at greatly reduced speeds. These acts are transformed into something new when drastically slowed down; aggressive posturing and the collision of bodies become poetic, gentle caresses. The slowness suspends time and changes the dimensions of reality, shifting perceptions of both viewer and performer so that the gestures are no longer seen as threatening, but rather as healing and comforting. Through such abstract and distorted motions, Chong asks whether beauty can be found in confrontation, and if such beauty can lead to reconciliation.

Isaac Chong Wai

Isaac Chong Wai works across a range of media, including live performance, video, photography, and site-specific installation, and considers the interplay between the collective and the individual, the politics of time and space, and real and imagined futures. His works often engage with other performers, with whom Chong performs,to allow for further interrogation of notions of the social and unified body. He holds a Master of Fine Arts in Public Art and New Artistic Strategies from the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar and a Bachelor of Arts in Visual Arts from the Academy of Visual Art at Hong Kong Baptist University. His work was included in recent exhibitions at the Stiftung Brandenburger Tor and the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin in 2017; the Bauhaus-Museum, Weimar, and the Gwangju Media Art Festival in 2016; and the Moscow International Biennale for Young Art in 2014. Chong was selected for the Burger Collection Artist Scholarship Program in 2016 and the Bauhaus Essentials awards in 2014 and 2015.
 


Tisna Sanjaya

99 Sajadah Merah

1 June (Fri), 7:30-9:00pm
3 June (Sun), 4:30-5:30pm


99 Sajadah Merah is the continuation of Sanjaya’s ongoing social practice of seeking and encouraging peace and tolerance. Translated as '99 Red Prayer Rugs', this performance is imbued with elements of ritual, taking its inspiration from the Quranic verse, 'For you is your religion and for me is mine’. Sanjaya invites the audience to collaborate with him, as is common in his practice, to help paint the prayer rugs with his body using indigenous elements: a diverse range of spices, mud, and charcoal that can be found in Hong Kong and the artist’s native Indonesia. The artist and performers traverse the sprawling installation in a collective form of art making to consider the need for cooperation in society. Whilst elegantly simple in concept, the intricate execution can be read as a complex collaboration through choreographed movements and gestures, with Sanjaya transforming this performance into acts of both gratitude and prayer.

Tisna Sanjaya

Tisna Sanjaya is a prominent artist from Indonesia whose body of work encompasses paintings, etchings, performances, installations, and public projects that reflect upon the local ecology of village communities. Strongly believing in using his art as a social practice, Sanjaya is committed to creating works that highlight the daily injustices affecting his country, especially the environmental destruction caused by large businesses and the government. Recently, he initiated collective performances with people from various provinces in Indonesia to better connect his art to societal concerns. He graduated from the Institut Teknologi Bandung (the Bandung Institute of Technology) in 1986 and pursued his postgraduate studies at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig (Braunschweig University of Art) in 1998. In 2011, he obtained a PhD from the Institut Seni Indonesia Yogyakarta. His works have been exhibited and performed locally and abroad, including at the Palais de Tokyo, Paris, in 2015; the 5th Gwangju Biennale in 2004; and the Indonesia Pavilion at the 50th Venice Biennale in 2003. In addition to his own art practice, Sanjaya teaches at the Institut Teknologi Bandung and founded the local art space Imah Budaya Cigondewah. In 2014, he received the Anugerah Adhikarya Seni Rupa award from Indonesia’s Ministry of Tourism and Creative Economy.
 


Duan Yingmei

My Hong Kong Friends

2 June (Sat), 12:00-1:30pm
3 June (Sun), 1:30-2:30pm


Unfolding as a personal journey through time and space, My Hong Kong Friends invites audiences to follow and interact with Duan through the gallery and experience a world conjured from her fantastical imagination. Prior to the performance, Duan engaged with several residents of Hong Kong over WeChat, asking them to share with her their most prized possessions and to offer personal anecdotes about the objects. These shared stories then become sources of inspiration for Duan as she imbues each of the objects with a tale, full of purpose and meaning. They are installed throughout the exhibition space, and as she leads the audience to each object, she places handwritten labels that tell the histories of their past and present, and that propose future histories. Treated as sculptures, the seemingly mundane materials are activated by Duan’s singular attention as she gently holds them, sings about them, and even encourages the audience to handle them. The memories of the items are held between the objects, the artist, and the audience through this collective act.

Duan Yingmei

For the past eighteen years, Duan Yingmei has made the live presence of her body the core of her practice, exploring universal human instincts such as fear, desire, loneliness, and joy through gestures and social interactions. She employs elements of fantasy and storytelling in her performances to investigate and understand personal and everyday experiences. Her use of sound, videos, and installations further develops situational experiments that examine conventional social behaviours, and her desire to make connections with others inspires works that include the audience in hopes that they will recognise parts of themselves through her performances. Duan began her artistic studies in painting at the Central Academy of Fine Arts in Beijing, but soon joined the group of avant-garde artists of Beijing East Village, who gained renown for the extreme use of their bodies in the 1990s. She contributed to several iconic works, such as the seminal piece To Add One Meter to an Anonymous Mountain, considered to be one of the first collective performance art works in the history of Chinese contemporary art. In 2000, Duan left China to attend the Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig (Braunschweig University of Art) and studied under the pioneering performance artist Marina Abramovic and the filmmaker and action artist Christoph Schlingensief, both of whom remain strong inspirations for her. Duan has participated in numerous international exhibitions and festivals, including Performance at Fondation Beyeler in Switzerland in 2015, the 19th Biennale of Sydney in 2014, the Lilith Performance Studio in Sweden in 2011, the 52nd Venice Biennale in 2007, and exhibitions curated by Marina Abramovic at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam in 2005.
 


River Lin

Cleansing Service 

1 June (Fri), 7:30-10:00pm
2 June (Sat), 12:00-5:00pm
3 June (Sun), 12:00-5:30pm


Equal parts confessional, washroom, and baptism, Cleansing Service invites audience members to remove traces of dirt, guilt, regret, and remnants of the day in a shared act of purification with Lin. In a room containing rows of water bottles labelled with different words, Lin encourages visitors to enter the space individually and choose a bottle with the word that is the most personal or connected to them. He then proceeds to converse with the visitor and transforms the water, with its historic symbolism in healing and cleansing rites, into a transcendent exchange of atonement. Through this intimate performance of washing and absolving, Cleansing Service examines the relationship between the body and ritual, and bridges the sacred with the everyday.

River Lin

River Lin is a performance and visual artist whose work includes choreography, one-on-one performances, and live installations. Using his body as his primary medium, Lin engages with his audience to investigate notions of intimacy, time, and everyday rituals. He constantly seeks new encounters with others to consider how the body initiates intentions and activates meaning in both private and public settings. Lin also draws inspiration from historical narratives in visual art, theatre, and dance to offer new interpretations and understandings. He received his Master of Arts in Performing Arts at the National Taiwan University of Arts in 2010 and has since performed at exhibitions and festivals, including the ArtTrend International Performance Art Festival in Tainan in 2017; the Taipei Biennial and the DanzInc Festival in Singapore, both in 2016; and Rapid Pulse in Chicago in 2015, to name a few. Lin recently co-founded and curated the Asia Discovers Asia Meeting for Contemporary Performance (ADAM), a project that builds a network of dialogue, collaboration, and exchange between artists in Asia.

一滴兩點 之 西九靚地王(謹向所有和平革命者致敬)

一滴兩點 之 西九靚地王(謹向所有和平革命者致敬)

魂游

6月2日(星期六)| 下午2時至3時

詳情
未來演習:警察訓練

未來演習:警察訓練

莊偉

6月2日(星期六)| 下午3時30分至5時
6月3日(星期日)| 下午12時至1時

詳情
九十九張紅氈

九十九張紅氈

Tisna Sanjaya

6月1日(星期五)| 晚上7時30分至9時
6月3日(星期日)| 下午4時30分至5時30分

詳情
我香港的好朋友們

我香港的好朋友們

段英梅

6月2日(星期六)| 下午12時至1時30分
6月3日(星期日)| 下午1時30分至2時30分

詳情
清潔服務

清潔服務

林人中

6月1日(星期五)| 晚上7時30分至10時
6月2日(星期六)| 下午12時至5時
6月3日(星期日)| 下午12時至5時30分

詳情

魂游

一滴兩點 之 西九靚地王(謹向所有和平革命者致敬)

6月2日(星期六),下午2時至3時

魂游以 M+ 委約的新作探討擁有和歸屬故土的意義。香港的房地產格價幾乎是全球之最,本次行為展演以西九文化區為焦點,鼓勵觀眾思索這座城市的商品價值是如何被評定的。魂游在西九建築工地收集了一系列自然和現成物件,讓觀眾在一場如同地產展銷會的展演中觀看、評估和競投,以觸發對這片填海土地之歷史和其現今意義的思考。現場給觀眾參考的不是住宅模型和建築平面圖,而是這片土地的各種元素,包括被棄置的建築材料、一平方呎的泥土,以及來自 M+ 大樓、戲曲中心、海濱長廊及苗圃公園的零星之物。每一件「財產」都附有一張證書,註明其發現地點、原本用途、收集日期和估值。魂游在猶如拍賣現場的展演空間展示這些物件,邀請觀眾的參與,以此挑戰社會上的財產和文化價值觀,同時問一個問題: 在當今香港的市場結構下,這些土地是否真的可歸我們所有?

魂游

魂游是跨領域的藝術家和研究者,專注於行為展演,經常大膽直面關於文化差異、本真性以及社會關係的議題,用身體和聲音介入公共場域,詰問當代生活的迫切問題;她對社會進步與公義的強烈渴望,塑造了獨有的藝術語言。魂游的作品散見於本地及海外各地,皆扎根於其關注的文化脈絡,包括《尋找國民》系列(2007 ―)、《謹向所有和平革命者致敬》系列(2015 ―),以及合作策動的《十年回歸前後話》(2007)和《廿年回歸前後話》計劃(2017)。魂游亦為藝術研究員,在 2005 至 2006 年開展了首個香港行為藝術研究計劃,並為推動社會實踐的本地藝術空間「活化廳」 的創辦人之一。魂游於 2015 至 2016 年獲傅爾布萊特獎學金前往美國西北大學擔任訪問學人,最近完成於香港浸會大學視覺藝術院研修的博士論文,探討九七後香港社㑹運動中的藝術及展演實踐。
  


莊偉

未來演習:警察訓練

6月2日(星期六),下午3時30分至5時
6月3日(星期日),下午12時至1時


《未來演習:警察訓練》是莊偉全新的行為展演委約作品,以重複的形式與動作探索抗議示威的歷史。此作品延續莊偉對一些議題之探討,例如想像的未來,以及未來世代如何透過某些動作和姿態,去詮釋並改進舊有的思想觀念。莊偉也通過研究世界各地的警察訓練,質問這些動作的制定及其用途:究竟是第一道防線,還是最後招數?莊偉和一眾展演者根據過去在抗議示威現場發生的爭執與警校的訓練,上演一系列極度放慢的預編動作。這些對抗的動作在放慢後變得耳目一新,凶猛的姿態和身體碰撞變成詩意盎然的輕撫。緩慢似乎可讓時間暫停,改變現實的維度,轉換觀者和演者對衝突行為的認知,不再感受到其威脅,而是從中得到療癒和安慰。莊偉通過如此抽象又扭曲的動態,詰問對抗衝突中可有美感存在,而這種美感又可否帶來和解。

莊偉

莊偉的創作運用多種媒介,包括現場展演、錄像、攝影和場域特定裝置,探究集體與個體的互動、時間與空間的政治,以及真實與想像的未來。莊偉經常與其他演出者共同展演作品,進一步探索於社會意義下被統一的身體。莊偉獲香港浸會大學視覺藝術院的視覺藝術學士學位,後負笈德國威瑪包浩斯大學,獲頒公共藝術及新藝術策略藝術碩士學位。近年參與的聯展包括 2017 年柏林布蘭登堡基金會和世界文化中心的展覽;2016 年威瑪包浩斯美術館的展覽和光州媒體藝術節﹔以及 2014 年莫斯科國際青年藝術雙年展。另外,莊偉獲選參加 2016 年 Burger Collection 藝術家獎學金計劃,以及獲頒 2014 和 2015 年的 Bauhaus Essentials 大獎。
 


Tisna Sanjaya

九十九張紅氈

6月1日(星期五),晚上7時30分至9時
6月3日(星期日),下午4時30分至5時30分


《九十九張紅氈》延續 Sanjaya 持續進行的社會實踐系列創作,追尋並喚起和平與包容。此行為演出包含儀式的元素,靈感來自可蘭經文「你的宗教歸你,我的歸我」。Sanjaya 一如既往邀請觀眾與自己合作,在他的身體抹上常見於香港和其家鄉印尼的香料、泥土和木炭,在帆布祈禱氈上塗畫。藝術家和參演者一起穿越龐雜的裝置,進行集體藝術創作,讓人反思社會中不可或缺的合作精神。作品的概念簡潔洗練,其實行過程卻錯綜複雜,是由預編動作與身體姿態實現的繁複合作,藝術家將其行為展演化為一場致謝與禱告。

Tisna Sanjaya

Tisna Sanjaya 是印尼的著名藝術家,其作品包括油畫、蝕刻版畫、行為展演、裝置,以及思考村落社群地方生態的公共計劃。Sanjaya 堅信其藝術創作是一種社會實踐,他致力在作品中凸顯影響着其國家的日常不公,特別是由大商家和政府導致的環境破壞。他近年邀請印尼不同省份的人參與集體行為展演,使自己的創作更貼近社會所關切的問題。Sanjaya 於 1986 年從萬隆理工學院畢業,1998 年負笈德國布倫瑞克藝術大學,2011 年於國立印尼藝術大學日惹分校修得博士學位。其作品在印尼和世界各地廣泛展覽和演出,包括 2015 年巴黎東京宮;2004 年第五屆光州雙年展;以及 2003 年第 50 屆威尼斯雙年展印尼館。除了藝術創作,Sanjaya 也執教於萬隆理工學院,並成立當地藝術空間 Imah Budaya Cigondewah。在 2014 年,他獲印尼旅遊及創意經濟部頒發 Anugerah Adhikarya Seni Rupa 藝術大獎。
 


段英梅

我香港的好朋友們

6月2日(星期六),下午12時至1時30分
6月3日(星期日),下午1時30分至2時30分


《我香港的好朋友們》是一段穿過時間和空間的個人旅程,邀請觀眾在展覽空間跟隨段英梅、與她互動,體驗她幻想中的世界。在這場展演前,段英梅以微信聯絡幾位香港居民,讓他們與她分享自己最珍視的物件,以及與其相關的個人軼事。這些收集來的軼事便成為段英梅的創造靈感,為每件物品注入意味深長的故事。物件散落整個空間,她一邊引領觀眾走到每件物品前面,一邊放下記載其過去與現在的歷史、又展望其未來的手寫便箋。看似平淡無奇的物品已儼如雕塑,又被藝術家專心致志地喚醒,她把它們輕柔地捧在手心,為它們頌唱,更邀請觀眾親手接過。透過這個集體的行為,藝術家和觀眾與每件物品共享了其身上的回憶。

段英梅

過去的十八年間,段英梅以親身展演的現場作品為主要創作形式,以動作和社交互動探討恐懼、慾望、孤寂和快樂等普世的人性本能;她在行為展演中融入幻想和故事敘述的元素,檢視和了解個人與日常的經驗。段英梅亦運用聲音、錄像和裝置構成情境實驗,進一步探問約定俗成的社會行為。其創作納入觀眾、並期待他們能從中觀照出一部分自己,反映了藝術家與他人連結的渴望。段英梅於九十年代在北京中央美術學院修習油畫,但不久後加入因其極端的身體表達手法而成名的前衛藝術團體──北京東村。其間她參與了數次極具代表性的作品,包括被視為中國當代藝術史上最早的集體行為藝術作品之一的《為無名山增高一米》。段英梅於 2000 年負笈德國布倫瑞克藝術大學,師從行為藝術先驅 Marina Abramovic 以及身兼電影製作者和行動藝術家的 Christoph Schlingensief,兩人皆對她影響至今。段英梅曾在許多國際展覽和藝術節中展演作品,包括 2015 年瑞士貝勒耶基金會美術館、2014 年第 19 屆悉尼雙年展、2011 年瑞典 Lilith Performance Studio、2007 年第 52 屆威尼斯雙年展,以及 2005 年阿姆斯特丹梵高美術館 Marina Abramovic 策劃之展覽。
 


林人中

清潔服務

6月1日(星期五),晚上7時30分至10時
6月2日(星期六),下午12時至5時
6月3日(星期日),下午12時至5時30分


《清潔服務》既是告解室、亦是盥洗室和洗禮儀式。林人中邀請觀眾與自己共同進行淨化洗滌的動作,去除污垢、過錯、懊悔和一天的殘餘痕跡。房間裏多排的水瓶貼有不同詞語標籤,林人中請觀眾獨自進入空間,揀選一個最契合其個人心境的標籤水瓶,然後會與其交談,並將帶有療癒和淨化等歷史象徵意義的清水,轉化成超然的救贖交流。透過上演親暱的清洗和除淨,《清潔服務》檢視身體與儀式間的關係,並貫連神聖與日常。

林人中

林人中是行為及視覺藝術家,作品包括編舞、一對一展演以及現場裝置。他以自己的身體為主要創作媒介,透過觀眾的參與,探討親密感、時間和日常儀式的概念。他不斷尋求與他人的新接觸,以觀察身體如何分別在公私場域中觸發動機和開展意義。另外,他亦從視覺藝術、劇場和舞蹈領域的歷史敘述中汲取靈感,帶來新的理解與詮釋。林人中 2010 年於國立臺灣藝術大學獲表演藝術碩士學位,自此多次於展覽和藝術節展演其作品,包括 2017 年台南阿川國際行為藝術節;2016 年台北雙年展和新加坡 DanzINC 藝術節;2015 年芝加哥 Rapid Pulse 藝術節等。林人中最近參與發起及策劃「亞當計劃 – 亞洲當代表演網絡集會」,為亞洲藝術家創造對話、合作以及交流的網絡。