Ryuichi SakamotoShiro Takatani

Ryuichi Sakamoto

Ryuichi Sakamotophoto by nss (zakkubalan)

“Anything can be music,” believes Ryuichi Sakamoto. Throughout his nearly 70 years, he has tested this guiding principle again and again. Sakamoto was born in 1952, the year John Cage composed 433’’. When he was a toddler, he was introduced to the piano, an instrument he would go on to examine from many Cageian angles. In the late ’70s, he joined Haruomi Hosono’s Yellow Magic Orchestra as a keyboardist and songwriter. His time in the proto-synthpop group led to solo experiments in fusing global genres, which in turn made way for close studies of classical impressionism and prepared piano.

As the millennium swam into view, Sakamoto’s attention was piqued by music’s relationship with other art forms. He premiered his multimedia opera LIFE, a collaboration with visual director Shiro Takatani, in 1999. Expanding on LIFE’s themes of symbiosis and evolution, Sakamoto and Takatani went on to produce several ambient installations together in the 2000s.

Running parallel to his artistic practice are Sakamoto’s contributions to cinema. He has scored over 30 films in as many years, including Nagisa Oshima’s Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence, Bernardo Bertolucci’s The Last Emperor and The Sheltering Sky, Alejandro González Iñárritu’s The Revenant, and Yoji Yamada’s Nagasaki: Memories of My Son. His accolades include an Academy Award, a Grammy, a BAFTA, and two Golden Globe awards. “Working on a film is like a journey to an unknown place,” Sakamoto once said. “I cannot experience that doing my own thing.”

In recent years, Sakamoto has doubled down on his sound experiments. In 2016, he turned American architect Philip Johnson’s modernist Glass House, which was built in the late ’40s, into an instrument. In collaboration with longtime friend Alva Noto, the pair swept rubber mallets over the contact mic’d surfaces of the building for an improvised composition titled Glass.

That exploratory spirit runs through Sakamoto’s 2017 album, async, which paints an audio portrait of the passing of time informed by his recovery from throat cancer. “Music, work, and life all have a beginning and an ending,” said Sakamoto in early 2019. “What I want to make now is music freed from the constraints of time.”

Shiro Takatani

Shiro Takatani

Visual artist and theatre director Shiro Takatani works with photography, video, lighting, graphics and set design, using cutting-edge technology in his creations. A founding member of the artist collective Dumb Type (established 1984), Takatani began a parallel solo career in 1998, and has since directed visuals for several theatre productions, including Ryuichi Sakamoto’s opera LIFE (1999). Takatani also participated in the arctic expedition project Cape Farewell (UK, 2007) and the related group exhibition at the National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation in Tokyo (2008). His collaboration with Fujiko Nakaya, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Min Tanaka was presented at Tate Modern, London and The National Museum, Oslo (2017).

Takatani’s original creations include the performance La Chambre Claire (2008), CHROMA (2012) and ST/LL with music by Ryuichi Sakamoto (2015). His first retrospective solo exhibition, Camera Lucida, was held at the Tokyo Photographic Art Museum in 2013. The Dumb Type solo exhibition Actions + Reflections (Centre Pompidou-Metz, 2018) is currently showing at the Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo (November 2019 – February 2020).

Takatani’s works have been presented at a number of international festivals and institutions, including GREC Festival in Barcelona, Martin-Gropius-Bau in Berlin, Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain in Paris, Romaeuropa Festival in Rome, Sharjah Biennial UAE, New National Theatre Tokyo, National Performing Arts Center – National Theater & Concert Hall in Taipei and National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Seoul.

坂本龍一高谷史郎

坂本龍一

坂本龍一攝影:nss (zakkubalan)

坂本龍一相信,任何東西皆可以成為音樂。生於約翰・凱吉創作《4分33秒》的1952年,他在接近70年來的人生中,一直以行動檢驗自己的信念。他在牙牙學語的年紀,就遇上鋼琴,自此以凱吉式的態度多角度探索此樂器。他在1970年代末加入細野晴臣的proto-synthpop樂隊Yellow Magic Orchestra,身兼作曲及鍵盤手,啟發他後來將全球各地的音樂類型融合,引領他鑽研古典印象派音樂及預置鋼琴。

至千禧之交,音樂與其他藝術形式的交流激發坂本龍一進入全新創作階段。1999年,他與影像導演高谷史郎共同創作的多媒體歌劇《LIFE》舉行首演,他們更在2000年代延續《LIFE》的主題,創作多件環境裝置。

坂本龍一的另一藝術事業為電影配樂,多年來創作超過30部作品,包括大島渚的《戰場上的快樂聖誕》、貝托魯奇的《末代皇帝溥儀》及《情陷撒哈拉》、依拿力圖的《復仇勇者》,及山田洋次的《給兒子的安魂曲》等。他曾獲奧斯卡獎、格林美獎及英國電影學院獎,更兩奪金球獎。坂本龍一說過:「參與電影就像一場前往未知地方的探險,帶給我個人創作沒有的體驗。」

近年坂本龍一投身聲音實驗,在2016年將美國建築師菲利浦・強生1940年代末的現代主義作品「玻璃屋」變成一件樂器。他與老拍檔阿爾瓦・諾托在牆上裝上收音器,以鼓槌掃出聲音,是為即興作品《Glass》。

坂本龍一在2017年的専輯《async》延續這種探索精神,以聲音描繪他從喉癌康復期間的時光流逝。坂本龍一在2019年年初這樣說:「音樂、工作及生命都有開始和終結,而我在嘗試令音樂超越時間的局限。」

高谷史郎

高谷史郎

高谷史郎身兼劇場導演及視覺藝術家,作品包括攝影、影像、燈光、平面和場景設計,充分利用最先進科技。高谷史郎於1984年聯合創辦藝術家組合Dumb Type,並於1998年開始個人創作,主理劇場作品視覺效果,包括坂本龍一1999年的歌劇《LIFE》。2007年他曾參與一項北極探索項目「Cape Farewell」,相關展覽於東京未來館舉行。他與中谷芙二子、坂本龍一和田中泯共同創作的作品曾於倫敦泰特現代美術館及奧斯陸國家美術館展出。

高谷史郎的原創作品包括演出《La Chambre Claire》、《CHROMA》及由坂本龍一配樂的《ST/LL》。2013年於東京都寫真美術館舉辦首個個人回顧展「Camera Lucida」,Dumb Type展覽「Actions + Reflections」2018年於法國梅斯龐比度中心舉行,2019至2020年於東京都現代美術館舉行。

高谷史郎的作品曾於多個國際藝術節及機構展出,包括巴塞隆拿GREC Festival、柏林Martin-Gropius-Bau、巴黎卡地亞當代藝術基金會、東京新國立劇場、台北國家兩廳院、羅馬Romaeuropa Festival、首爾國立現代美術館等。