Samson Young: Songs for Disaster Relief
The 57th International Art Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia

As part of the 57th International Art Exhibition at the Venice Biennale 2017, M+ and the Hong Kong Arts Development Council present the collateral event, Samson Young: Songs for Disaster Relief. The M+ curatorial team consists of Guest Curator, Ying Kwok, with M+ Deputy Director and Chief Curator Doryun Chong as Consulting Curator.

Conceived by local artist Samson Young specifically for the exhibition, Songs for Disaster Relief is a new body of work that consists of a series of drawings, objects, videos, spatial sound installations and site-specific pieces. Together the series constitutes a unique audio-visual experience, taking visitors on a journey that attempts to reexamine the popularity of ‘charity singles’ from the 1980s. Through a deliberate repurposing and creative misreading of iconic songs made by popular artists for charitable causes, the work draws on several seemingly unrelated past and current events to explore the social, political, and philosophical implications of ‘charity singles’ in a cross-cultural context.

For more information about Songs for Disaster Relief, please visit www.venicebiannale.hk.


Exhibition period:
13 May – 26 November 2017

Opening hours:
10:00am – 6:00pm
Closed on Mondays (except 15 May, 14 August, 4 September, 30 October, and 20 November 2017)

Location:
Campo della Tana, Castello 2126-30122, Venice, Italy
(Opposite the main entrance of Arsenale)

Free admission

Enquiries:
m+@wkcda.hk / +852 2200 0204

Co-presented by:


Venice Biennale
Venice Biennale is the world’s oldest and most prestigious international art exhibition held every two years. This year marks the 57th exhibition with 51 participating countries. The Biennale is unique in including individual national representations, and an international art exhibition, this year curated by Christine Macel under the theme of ‘VIVA ARTE VIVA’. It also comprises a wide range of collateral events that take place across Venice, and acknowledge the growing complexity and changing geopolitical landscape of today’s world.

楊嘉輝的賑災專輯
57屆威尼斯視藝雙年展

M+視覺文化博物館及香港藝術發展局於第57屆威尼斯藝術雙年展攜手合辦楊嘉輝個人展覽「楊嘉輝的賑災專輯」。展覽由M+客席策展人郭瑛策展,及由M+副總監及總策展人鄭道鍊擔任顧問策展人。

「賑災專輯」展出楊嘉輝特別為此展覽而創作的全新作品。作品由一系列畫作、物件、錄像,和空間聲音裝置及場域特定設置組成,集視覺及聽覺體驗於一體,帶領參觀者重新審視1980年代最為盛行的「慈善單曲」現象。作品透過刻意修改和創意誤讀多首由娛樂巨星為公益而結集錄製的經典歌曲,把數件看似無關的歷史事件串聯起來,在跨文化語境下探索「慈善單曲」的社會、政治及哲學隱喻。

有關「賑災專輯」的詳細資料,請瀏覽www.venicebiannale.hk


展覽日期

2017年5月13日至11月26日

開放時間:
上午10時至下午6時
逢星期一關閉(2017年5月15日、8月14日、9月4日、10月30日及11月20日除外)

展覽場地:
Campo della Tana, Castello 2126-30122, 威尼斯,意大利
(Arsenale主場館入口對面)

免費入場

查詢:
m+@wkcda.hk/+852 2200 0204

合辦:


「威尼斯視藝雙年展」

「威尼斯視藝雙年展」每兩年舉辦一次,是世界上最歷史悠久、最享負盛名的國際藝術展覽。本屆已是第57屆,共有51個國家參加。威尼斯雙年展的特色,是以國家為參展單位的參展機制,同時亦有一個國際藝術展覽。本屆的國際藝術展覽由Christine Macel擔任策展人,以「VIVA ARTE VIVA」為題。與此同時,威尼斯其他場地亦會舉辦一系列展覽及相關活動,充分表現當今世界日益複雜和不斷變化的地域政治景觀。