In this public talk, Thomas Daniell, the 2017 M+ / Design Trust Research Fellow, presents the results of his fellowship. ‘Unbuilt Macau’ examines unrealised and often visionary proposals for reclaimed land in Macau, mostly in the period immediately prior to the handover of the former Portuguese settlement to China in 1999. Five main areas were included in Daniell’s research: ZAPE (Zona de Aterros do Porto Exterior), NAPE (Novos Aterros do Porto Exterior), Praia Grande, Cotai, and Hengqin New Area. These sometimes radical, unbuilt proposals by multiple architects, many of which arose through international competitions, contribute to an alternative history of Macau, providing an instructive comparison with the built reality today and suggesting possible future directions.

The presentation is followed by a discussion and question-and-answer session.

Pending official approval, this public talk will become a Continuing Professional Development (CPD) event under the Council of Architecture, Engineering, and Urbanism (CAEU) of the Land, Public Works and Transport Bureau (DSSOPT) in Macau.

Date: 
3 March 2018 (Saturday)

Time: 
3:00pm – 5:00pm

Venue: 
Dom Pedro V Theatre (Largo de Santo Agostinho, Macau)

Language: 
English (with English-Cantonese simultaneous interpretation)

Speaker:
Thomas Daniell, 2017 M+ / Design Trust Research Fellow

Moderators:
Aric Chen, Lead Curator, Design and Architecture, M+
Marisa Yiu, Executive Director, Design Trust

Discussant:
Eduardo Tavares da Silva, Director, GET International Ltd Architects, Engineers and Urban Planners

Enquiries: 
m+@mplus.org.hk / (852) 2200 0204

REGISTER NOW

In Collaboration with

Partner Organisations:

*The organiser reserves the right to change the speakers and programme content. All changes will be announced on the website.

About the M+ / Design Trust Research Fellowship
The M+ / Design Trust Research Fellowship is an initiative of M+, the new museum of visual culture under construction in Hong Kong’s West Kowloon Cultural District, with the support and funding of DESIGN TRUST, a Hong Kong-based non-profit grant funding platform established by Hong Kong Ambassadors of Design in 2014. The fellowship supports high-level research in design and architectural history and contemporary issues relating to Hong Kong and the Pearl River Delta region, and their relationship to the rest of the world.

See more

2017年度「M+ / Design Trust研究資助計劃」研究學人Thomas Daniell將於是次講座發表其研究成果。Thomas Daniell以「紙上的澳門」為題,探討五個甚具遠見的重要項目:新口岸填海區、新口岸新填海區、南灣、路氹城及橫琴新區,審視這些主要在1999年澳門主權回歸前提出、最終不曾落實的填海區開發方案。這些屢有創見甚至激進的方案來自多位建築師,不少是於各大國際比賽中提出,雖然從沒付諸實現,卻為澳門編寫了另類的歷史,亦為現有建設提供富有啟發意義的比較,並為未來發展指引出可行的方向。

演講後將設討論及發問環節。

此講座正待澳門土地工務運輸局(DSSOPT)轄下的建築、工程及城市規劃專業委員會(CAEU)認可為持續進修活動(CPD)。

日期:
2018年3月3日(星期六)

時間: 
下午3時至5時

場地: 
崗頂劇院(澳門崗頂前地) 

語言: 
英語(提供粵語即時傳譯)

講者:
Thomas Daniell,2017 年度「 M+ / Design Trust研究資助計劃」 研究學人

主持:
陳伯康,M+設計及建築主策展人
姚嘉珊,信言設計大使執行總監

小組討論成員
Eduardo Tavares da Silva,GET International Ltd Architects, Engineers and Urban Planners總監

查詢:
m+@mplus.org.hk / (852) 2200 0204

立即報名

合作夥伴:

協力機構:

*主辦單位保留更改講座內容和講者的權利,請留意我們網頁的最新公佈。

關於「M+ / Design Trust 研究資助計劃」
「M+ / Design Trust 研究資助計劃」是由位於香港西九文化區、並正在興建的M+博物館主辦,及於2014年由香港設計大使建立的非牟利專案資助平台信言設計大使資助。旨在支持有關香港及珠江三角洲地區的高水平研究,包括設計及建築的歷史和當代議題等,並探討其與世界其他地區的連繫。

查看更多