M+ Matters: Archigram Cities Online Symposium
Organised with the Department of Architecture, University of Hong Kong

Zoom 3: Transmissions

Date: 10 November 2020 (Tuesday)
Time: 7:30pm–9:45pm (Hong Kong)
Language: English
Platform: Zoom

REGISTER

 

Warren Chalk, Ron Herron, Archigram. City Interchange, perspective, 1963. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESWarren Chalk, Ron Herron, Archigram. City Interchange, perspective, 1963. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

Connecting the Archigram Spirit with Hong Kong
Roger Wu

If anyone had built a place to deliver Archigram’s ideas and diagrams for a machine city, it probably would not have been far from Hong Kong’s hyper-dense, multilayered, multicultural, and ever-changing urban environment. If anyone can see the work of Archigram in the walkways of Hong Kong, it is testament to the profound influence of the group’s techno-visual and machine-functional provocations. In the same way, it could be argued that Archigram’s manifesto and Hong Kong’s development are built on similar beliefs in consumerism and infrastructure as solutions for the future. Archigram’s audacious initiatives and creative propositions critiquing society—abruptly but optimistically—sent shockwaves that continue to reverberate today. The relentless advancement of technology now warrants a critical repositioning of architecture and urbanism, just as technology inspired Archigam’s work. In addition, some of the social and urban phenomena left unaddressed by Archigram are now re-emerging with force in Hong Kong—many of these are human-centred issues of identity, liveability, and sustainability, which were at the core of the 2019 Hong Kong Biennale of Urbanism\Architecture. Through the presentation of projects inspired by Archigram as well as talks and workshops by designers whose thinking and work are influenced by the group, the Biennale aimed to share Archigram’s imaginative spirit with different communities of all ages and backgrounds in Hong Kong.

Roger Wu is an architect who has worked for a number of practices in the United Kingdom and Hong Kong. He has extensive experience leading projects with complex design and operational requirements, as well as in practice management and business development. He is currently the Executive Director of Haw Par Music Foundation, a non-profit organisation established to oversee the revitalisation of the historic Haw Par Mansion in Tai Hang, Hong Kong, into a centre for music education. He was the Chief Curator of the 2019 Bi-City Biennale of Urbanism\Architecture (Hong Kong).


 

Archigram. Osakagram, 1970. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESArchigram. Osakagram, 1970. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

Dismantling Architecture! Archigram and Isozaki ca.1970
Ariel Genadt

In the late 1960s, inspired by images they saw in the Japan Architect journal, Archigram members contacted and collaborated with the Tokyo-based Isozaki Arata. The architect, who had distinguished himself from the Metabolists, nevertheless introduced Archigram to his colleagues. This led to Archigram’s participation at the 1970 World Exposition in Osaka, where they presented a capsule with an edition of their magazine, titled ‘Osakagram’. The juxtaposition of their work with that of the Metabolists highlighted different visions of forces that would affect future cities. It underscored the conflict between centralised power and bottom-up processes. For Isozaki, the event represented an ideological crisis. He was caught between his devotion to his work for the government under Tange Kenzo’s ‘Big Roof’ at Expo ’70, and his sympathy for anti-institutional ideals. Upon leaving Tange, he realigned with those ideals, and articulated them in the book Destruction of Architecture (1975). Isozaki valued Archigram’s work, which he saw as ‘consistently counter-cultural’ and aiming ‘to dismantle the apparatus of Modern Architecture’. He preferred this stance to that of the Metabolists, which he believed was ‘manipulated in the interests of the government’s meretricious policies’. This presentation unfolds the ideological affinity between Isozaki and Archigram, examining how Archigram’s ideas of indeterminacy and temporality were transcribed by Isozaki, specifically as regards the dismantling of the modern ideals in the climate of post-war capitalism. The presentation examines the architects’ words and unbuilt projects and the reciprocal inspiration that was at play between London and Tokyo. It shows how Isozaki and Archigram reacted to the capitalist urban paradigm using irony in their representations, and reflects on the reasons their proposals never solved the conflict between their ‘counter-cultural’ ideals and the centralised power necessary to implement them. In so doing, the presentation affirms the relevance of Archigram and Isozaki’s proposals to twenty-first-century urbanism in Asia.

Ariel Genadt is an architect and scholar and Lecturer at the University of Pennsylvania’s Weitzman School of Design. His research focuses on the relationship between construction and architectural expression of cultural and environmental aspects of places, and on the history and theory of twentieth-century architecture in Japan. Genadt holds a PhD in Architecture (University of Pennsylvania, 2016), a Master of Arts degree (Architectural Association, 2004) and a Bachelor of Architecture degree (Technion, Israel, 1997). He has collaborated as an architect on a range of buildings and urban design projects in Europe and Asia. In 2012, he was a Japan Society for the Promotion of Sciences Fellow Researcher at the Kengo Kuma Lab, Tokyo University, and in 2013, a visiting scholar at the Fondazione Renzo Piano, Genoa. He has published scholarly articles in EAHN Architectural Histories, the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Baumeister, and Topos. In 2018, he curated the exhibition Critical Abstractions: Modern Architecture in Japan at the University of Pennsylvania.


 

David Greene, Archigram. Living Pod, section, 1966. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESDavid Greene, Archigram. Living Pod, section, 1966. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

‘Plug-In’ Communism: Archigram’s Influence on Soviet Architectural Counterculture
Evangelos Kotsioris

During the early 1970s, a group of Soviet designers at the Institute of Technical Aesthetics (VNIITE) in Moscow developed a series of imaginative counter-projects that envisioned alternative models for domestic life under socialism. The most prominent among them was the Dwelling-Theatre, a system of mobile elements that promised to render traditional modes of material possession and place-ness obsolete. Designed by Aleksandr Riabushin, Evgeny Bogdanov, and Vladimir Paperny, the Dwelling-Theatre was awash with references to Archigram’s projects and representational techniques. The idea of domestic communication hardware plugged into larger urban infrastructures owed much to Dennis Crompton’s concept for Computer City (1964), while the principles of an expandable interior can be traced back to Archigram’s Plug ’n’ Clip Dwelling (1965). This presentation considers the immense, yet understudied, influence that Archigram exerted on Soviet architecture groups of the 1970s. Russian architects like Riabushin were deeply affected by the work and visualisations of Archigram, and also managed to introduce the work of the British group into Soviet publications, making it accessible to designers behind the Iron Curtain for the first time. Similar to Archigram, the VNIITE group relied and mobilised publications and exhibitions for the dissemination of their ideas. Unlike their Western counterparts, Soviet designers were largely restricted to official channels of communication, such as Arkhitektura SSSR (the official journal of the USSR Union of Architects), the contents of which were subject to heavy ideological scrutiny. The VNIITE group’s publicising, appropriation, and paraphrasing of Archigram’s work can thus itself be understood as a form of countercultural practice, a balancing act between open admiration of a Western radical architecture group and a tactfully disguised call to arms for Soviet designers to conceive new modes of utopian practice that challenged the strict confines and pragmatism of socialist planning.

Evangelos Kotsioris is a New York–based architectural historian, educator, and architect whose research focuses on the intersections of architecture with science, technology, and media. Currently, he is a Curatorial Assistant in the Department of Architecture & Design at the Museum of Modern Art, New York. He was the 2016–2017 Emerging Curator at the Canadian Centre for Architecture, where he organised the exhibition Lab Cult: An Unorthodox History of Interchanges Between Science and Architecture. Kotsioris holds an MArch II degree from the Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD). For his doctoral research at the Princeton School of Architecture, he received the Carter Manny Citation for Special Recognition by the Graham Foundation in Chicago. He has taught at Princeton University, the GSD, Barnard College and Columbia University, the Boston Architectural Center, and the Cooper Union. His writing has appeared in Perspecta, New Geographies, The Architectural Review, Volume, Manifest, post, Conditions, On Site, and elsewhere.


 

Warren Chalk, Archigram. Underwater City, elevation, 1964. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESWarren Chalk, Archigram. Underwater City, elevation, 1964. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

Retransmitting Archigram
Mark Wigley

The Archigram show—a more or less continuous broadcast with multiple reruns for almost sixty years—is now shifting network. Transmission will resume shortly. Do not adjust your set. Yet. This talk explores the network addictions of Archigram, both in the internal circuits of its diverse projects and in the external circuits connecting it to global and historical nets of experimental designers. Archigram broadcast images of a less boring life in the age of broadcasting—trying to strip architecture of weight, immobility, and English weather to expose an agile interactive architecture of communication. What does it mean for such a programme born in the golden age of TV to be retransmitted in the less-than-golden age of cell phones? 

Mark Wigley is Professor of Architecture at the Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation (GSAPP). He is a historian and theorist who explores the intersection of architecture, art, philosophy, culture, and technology. His books include: The Architecture of Deconstruction: Derrida’s Haunt (MIT Press, 1993); White Walls, Designer Dresses: The Fashioning of Modern Architecture (MIT Press, 1996); Constant’s New Babylon: The Hyper-Architecture of Desire (010 Publishers, 1999); Buckminster Fuller Inc.: Architecture in the Age of Radio (Lars Müller Publishers, 2016); Are We Human? Notes on an Archaeology of Design (Lars Müller Publishers, 2019), with Beatriz Colomina; and Cutting Matta-Clark: The Anarchitecture Investigation (Canadian Centre for Architecture, Lars Müller Publishers, and Columbia GSAPP). He has curated exhibitions at the Museum of Modern Art, the Drawing Center, and Columbia University in New York; Witte de With and Het Nieuwe Instituut in Rotterdam; and the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montreal. His most recent exhibition and book is Passing through Architecture: The 10 Years of Gordon Matta-Clark (Power Station of Art, 2019).

M+ 思考:Archigram城市網上研討會
與香港大學建築學院合辦

第三部分:傳播
日期:2020年11月10日(星期二)
時間:香港時間晚上7時30分至9時45分
語言:英語
活動平台:Zoom

立即報名

 

Warren Chalk、Ron Herron(Archigram),City Interchange透視圖,1963年,M+,香港,© ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESWarren Chalk、Ron Herron(Archigram),City Interchange透視圖,1963年,M+,香港,©ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

連結Archigram精神與香港
胡燦森

假如有人依照Archigram的機械城市概念和示意圖建設一個地方,大概會與高度密集、層層疊疊、都市環境瞬息萬變的香港相差不遠。假如有人在香港人行道上看到Archigram作品的影子,那就印證了他們挑戰成規的科技視覺和機械功能設計的深遠影響。另外,Archigram所宣示的信條與香港的發展進程可謂不謀而合,兩者同樣認為消費主義和基礎建設是應對未來之道。Archigram憑其大膽的建築項目和創意觀點,以莽撞但樂觀的方式批判社會,帶來的衝擊迴盪至今。現今科技不斷進步,令人們必須重新審視建築和都市規劃,如同當初Archigram從科技獲得創作靈感。此外,Archigram留下了一些懸而未決的社會和都市現象,它們明顯正於香港再次猛然出現。當中不少是以人為本的議題,包括身分認同、宜居性和可持續發展,這些都是2019年深港城市\建築雙城雙年展的核心。雙年展透過介紹受Archigram啟發的項目,以及邀請理念和創作得益於Archigram的設計師舉辦講座及工作坊,與香港各個年齡和背景的群體分享Archigram富於想像力的精神。

胡燦森曾於英國和香港多間建築師事務所任職建築師,領導過多個設計和運作要求複雜的建築項目,並擁有豐富的事務所管理和業務發展經驗。他現為非牟利機構虎豹音樂基金的執行長,負責監督香港大坑虎豹別墅的活化項目,將這幢歷史建築變成音樂教育中心。他曾擔任2019年深港城市\建築雙城雙年展(香港)的總策展人。


 

Archigram,Osakagram,1970年,M+,香港,© ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESArchigram,Osakagram,1970年,M+,香港,©ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

拆解建築! 約1970年的Archigram與磯崎新
Ariel Genadt

Archigram成員於1960年代末受到雜誌《日本建築師》的圖片啟發,遂聯絡並與東京的磯崎新合作。磯崎新在代謝派中獨樹一幟,他把Archigram介紹給同僚,促成Archigram參加1970年的大阪萬國博覽會。Archigram在萬國博覽會上展示了「膠囊」及一期名為《Osakagram》的雜誌。Archigram與代謝派成員的作品並置,凸顯了對改變未來城市的力量的不同想像,亦強調了權力集中與自下而上的過程之間的衝突。對磯崎新來說,這次萬國博覽會代表了意識形態的危機。他當時正陷入自我掙扎,一方面因丹下健三在大阪萬國博覽會的項目「大屋頂」而要替政府工作,一方面贊同反建制思想。離開丹下健三的工作室後,他轉而支持這些思想,並於《建築的解體》(1975)闡明其看法。磯崎新看重Archigram的作品,認為其「貫徹始終地反對主流文化」,並旨在「瓦解現代建築的機制」。他認為Archigram的立場比代謝派可取,因為後者「為政府虛有其表的政策而受操縱」。本演講揭示磯崎新和Archigram在意識形態上的密切關係,審視磯崎新如何演繹Archigram非固定和臨時的特點,尤其着重戰後資本主義大環境下現代理想的崩解。演講探討這群建築師的話語和未建成的項目,以及如何影響倫敦和東京之間的交流和互相啟發。演講展現磯崎新和Archigram如何在作品中運用反諷來回應資本主義的都市範式,並深思他們的提案為何未能解決其「反主流文化」理想與實現這些理想所需的權力集中之間的矛盾。演講藉此論證Archigram和磯崎新的提案如何與二十一世紀亞洲的都市生活息息相關。

Ariel Genadt是建築師、學者及賓夕凡尼亞大學韋茲曼設計學院講師。其研究焦點是興建工程與以建築表現地點的文化和環境這兩者間的關係,以及二十世紀日本建築的歷史和理論。Genadt擁有賓夕凡尼亞大學建築博士學位(2016)、建築聯盟學院藝術碩士學位(2004)和以色列理工學院建築學士學位(1997)。他曾擔任不同歐洲和亞洲建築物和都市設計項目的建築師,在2012年擔任東京大學隈研吾研究室的日本學術振興會研究員,並在2013年擔任熱那亞倫佐・皮亞諾基金會的訪問學者。他曾於《EAHN Architectural Histories》、《建築史學家學會期刊》、《Baumeister》和《Topos》發表學術文章,並於2018年在賓夕凡尼亞大學策劃「Critical Abstractions – Modern Architecture In Japan」展覽。


 

David Greene(Archigram),「生活艙」剖面圖,1966年,M+,香港,© ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESDavid Greene(Archigram),「生活艙」剖面圖,1966年,M+,香港,©ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

「Plug-In」共產主義:Archigram對蘇聯建築反文化的影響
Evangelos Kotsioris

在1970年代初,莫斯科全蘇技術美學科學研究所(VNIITE)的一群蘇聯設計師構思出一系列天馬行空的反文化項目,設想社會主義下另一種類型的家庭生活模式。其中最著名的「居住劇場」是由移動組件建成的系統,旨在取代以物質佔有和具場地特質的傳統生活模式。由Aleksandr Riabushin、Evgeny Bogdanov和Vladimir Paperny設計的「居住劇場」充滿對Archigram項目及其具象技巧的指涉。當中將家用通訊硬件接駁到大型都市基礎建設的概念,主要取材自Dennis Crompton的「Computer City」(1964)的構想,而「居住劇場」中可伸展的內部設計理念則可追溯到Archigram的「Plug 'n' Clip Dwelling」(1965)。本演講將闡述Archigram對1970年代蘇聯建築團體重大卻鮮被探究的影響。像Riabushin這樣的俄羅斯建築師,不僅深受Archigram的作品和視覺呈現手法啟發,亦設法在蘇聯出版物中引介這美國建築團體的創作,令身處「鐵幕」內的設計師得以初次認識外面的作品。VNIITE團體跟Archigram一樣,依靠出版物和展覽來傳播他們的構想。然而,與西方不同的是,蘇聯設計師的設計只限在官方傳播渠道上流佈,例如蘇聯建築師協會的官方刊物《蘇聯建築藝術》,而當中的內容都須依據意識形態被仔細審查。因此,VNIITE團體對Archigram作品的推廣、挪用和改述本身,可被視為反文化的實踐方式。這舉措在兩方面取得了平衡,一方面公開表達對西方前衛建築團體的欣賞,另一方面則巧妙偽裝了對蘇聯設計師的號召,呼籲他們構想烏托邦式實踐的新模式,挑戰社會主義規劃實用思想的嚴格規限。

Evangelos Kotsioris是駐居紐約的建築歷史學者、教育家和建築師,其研究關注建築與科學、科技和媒體的交集。他現為紐約現代美術館建築與設計部的策展助理。他於2016至2017年間擔任蒙特利爾加拿大建築中心的新銳策展人,並策劃了展覽「Lab Cult: An Unorthodox History of Interchanges Between Science and Architecture」。Kotsioris持有哈佛大學設計學院建築碩士學位,並憑於普林斯頓大學建築學院的博士研究獲得芝加哥Graham基金會的Carter Manny特別表揚獎。他曾任教於普林斯頓大學、哈佛大學設計學院、巴納德學院與哥倫比亞大學、波士頓建築中心和柯柏聯盟學院,並曾於多份刊物撰文,包括《Perspecta》、《New Geographies》、《The Architectural Review》、《Volume》、《Manifest》、《post》、《Conditions》及《On Site》等。


 

Warren Chalk(Archigram),Underwater City立面圖,1964年,M+,香港,© ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESWarren Chalk(Archigram),Underwater City立面圖,1964年,M+,香港,©ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

重新播送Archigram
Mark Wigley

Archigram的節目在約六十年間,幾近一直播放並多次重播。它正調整播送網絡,將於稍後恢復播送,請暫且不要轉台。這次演講探討Archigram對網絡的着迷,一方面指在他們不同項目中的內部迴圈連繫,另一方面則指將他們與全球與歷史上的實驗設計師連結的外部網絡。Archigram在廣播時代播送相對有趣的生活景象,試圖消除建築的重量、固定性及英國的天氣,以展示靈活互動的通信架構。這個在電視黃金時代誕生的節目,在這個手提電話當道的黃金時代下重播,又具有甚麼意味?

Mark Wigley是哥倫比亞大學建築、規劃及歷史保護研究院建築學教授、歷史學者和理論家,探索建築、藝術、哲學、文化和科技的交集。他的著作包括:《The Architecture of Deconstruction: Derrida’s Haunt》(MIT Press,1993)、《White Walls, Designer Dresses: The Fashioning of Modern Architecture》(MIT Press,1996)、《Constant's New Babylon: The Hyper-Architecture of Desire》(010 Publishers,1999)、《Buckminster Fuller Inc.: Architecture in the Age of Radio》(Lars Müller Publishers,2016)、與Beatriz Colomina合著的《Are We Human? - Notes on an Archaeology of Design》(Lars Müller Publishers,2019))及《Cutting Matta-Clark: The Anarchitecture Investigation》(Canadian Centre for Architecture、Lars Müller Publishers、Columbia GSAPP)。他曾為紐約的現代美術館、繪畫中心和哥倫比亞大學;鹿特丹的Witte de With當代藝術中心及Het Nieuwe研究所,以及蒙特利爾加拿大建築中心策展。他最近策劃的展覽為《穿越建築:戈登・馬塔-克拉克的十年》(上海當代藝術博物館,2019),並為展覽撰寫同名著作。