M+ Matters: Archigram Cities Online Symposium
Organised with the Department of Architecture, University of Hong Kong

Zoom 2: Figurations

Date: 6 November 2020 (Friday)
Time: 7:30–9:30pm (Hong Kong)
Language: English
Platform: Zoom

REGISTER

 

Peter Cook, Archigram. Plug-In City, overhead view, 1964. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESPeter Cook, Archigram. Plug-In City, overhead view, 1964. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

-GRAM
Li Han

For Drawing Architecture Studio (DAS), Archigram’s greatest influence lies in their demonstration that architectural drawing has enormous potential not only as a design tool but also as a medium. Through forms of communication like magazines and graphic novels, drawing enables architecture to cross professional boundaries and enter mass culture. Inspired by the radical 1960s architects’ exploration of imagined futures and possibilities in the built environment, DAS makes architectural drawing a pivot point in their practice, transforming phenomena from the real world into digital images for narrative or criticism and communicating these images online. The drawing series DAS created for Archigram Cities is a reinterpretation of Archigram’s avant-garde concepts in a contemporary urban context, juxtaposing the group’s projects with designs for cities by other architects as well as everyday structures in urban spaces in Asia. The drawings are conceived as a series of visual dialogues between the past and the present, and dream and reality, and within the profession and beyond.

Li Han is a Founding Partner of Drawing Architecture Studio, through which he explores and presents a critical view of dwellings, cities, and the urban environment in the medium of narrative-based digital drawing. His work integrates influences from Pop Art, postmodernism, and contemporary popular culture into depictions of urban landscapes. Li was the overall winner of the Architecture Drawing Prize curated by the World Architecture Festival, Sir John Soane’s Museum, and Make Architects in 2018. His publications include A Little Bit of Beijing (Tongji University Press, 2013), A Little Bit of Beijing · Dashilar (Tongji University Press, 2015), and Hutong Mushroom (China Architecture Publishing & Media Company, 2018). He was trained at the Central Academy of Fine Arts in Beijing and RMIT University in Melbourne.


 

Ron Herron, Archigram. Instant Malaysia, Malaysia Simulator collage, 1973. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESRon Herron, Archigram. Instant Malaysia, Malaysia Simulator collage, 1973. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

Take the Weather with You: The Malaysian Exhibit at the Commonwealth Institute
Lai Chee Kien

From May 1969 to February 1971, there was no functioning government in Malaysia. The country had witnessed its worst race riots, resulting in thousands of deaths, and parliament was suspended. Deputy Prime Minister Tun Abdul Razak took control of running the country, and eventually took the premiership. Reparations would take decades and, until today, no official explanation has been formulated for a new generation, and no commemorative monument has been constructed. In the meantime, the Commonwealth Institute in London was also in transition. Just as the Commonwealth was a surrogate for empire after the fact, the institute had been reformulated from the Imperial Institute—founded in 1887 to assess and manage colonial extractions—into a subtler ‘former members’ clubhouse’ under a new board. Its new building continued to stratify spatial readings of empire with showcase pavilions on three levels. Since Malaysia was neither in Africa nor was it one of the former British Dominions, its exhibit was on the uppermost level. While the previous 1964 Malaysia exhibit was designed using information panels and models, these were felt to be inadequate by the Razak cabinet. There was an urgency to reinvent the nation’s image for larger global communities after the riots, and to remain economically competitive at the onset of the oil crisis. In 1972, the Malaysian government approached Archigram, who accepted the job. It fit with Archigram’s repertoire of Instant Country projects, spatial ‘network[s] of information–entertainment–“play-and-know yourself” facilities’ grafted onto a site. This presentation traces the trajectories of Instant Malaysia, discussing how the use of supergraphics, text, dioramas, and—especially—a weather simulator met the desires of both the architects and their clients, as well as how the exhibition finally put to bed the overt use of invented or representational cultural forms that defined past British exhibitions of Malaya/Malaysia.

Lai Chee Kien is an architectural and urban historian and a registered architect in Singapore. He graduated from the National University of Singapore with an MArch by Research degree (1996) and earned a PhD in the History of Architecture and Urban Design from the University of California, Berkeley (2005). His books include Building Merdeka: Independence Architecture in Kuala Lumpur, 1957—1966 (Galeri Petronas, 2007), Building Memories: People, Architecture, Independence (Achates 360, 2016, named Book of the Year by the Singapore Book Awards), and, with Ang Chee Cheong, The Merdeka Interviews: Architects, Engineers and Artists of Malaysia’s Independence (Pertubuhan Akitek Malaysia, 2018). His research focuses on the histories of art, architecture, settlements, urbanism, and landscapes in Southeast Asia.


 

Peter Cook, Archigram. Hedgerow Village, 1971. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESPeter Cook, Archigram. Hedgerow Village, 1971. M+, Hong Kong. © ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

Learning from Archigram
Tsukamoto Yoshiharu

Beyond Archigram’s appropriation of methods of graphic visualisation as tools to expand the boundaries of architectural representation, lies their other major contribution: propagating a shift in our perception of time and scale in spatial production, from the level of the planetary to that of the individual. Triggered by the wave of satellite broadcasting and increasing globalisation of the 1960s and 1970s, Archigram’s view of the relationship between the one-earth, society, and the human led to explorations of moving, interchangeable, and ephemeral architecture and urban phenomena. These were proposed in the form of projects such as Walking City, Capsule Homes, and Instant City, that sought to shift the centre of gravity from the community to the individual. While these elements are reflected in the work of architects in the Japanese Metabolism movement, Metabolism’s focus on individuality was conceived for urban efficiency and pragmatism rather than as a reframing of the perception of time and scale. This presentation seeks to position the practice of Atelier Bow-Wow—particularly its architectural design methodology embedded in social reality and the behaviours of human and nature—as part of the global history of modern architecture, which has been shaped by the work of Archigram and the Metabolists.

Tsukamoto Yoshiharu is an architect and the co-founder, in 1992, of Atelier Bow-Wow, a Tokyo-based firm working in fields including architectural design and urban research and the creation of public spaces based on the theory of behaviourology. The atelier has worked on diverse projects both in Japan and internationally. Tsukamato has participated in a number of exhibitions, including The Japanese House: Architecture and Life after 1945 (MAXXI – the National Museum of 21st Century Arts, Rome; the Barbican Centre, London; and the National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo, 2017); the 3rd Istanbul Design Biennale (2016); the 15th International Architecture Exhibition, La Biennale di Venezia (2016); Wohnungsfrage (Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, 2015); and the Chicago Architecture Biennial (2015). Among his publications are Graphic Anatomy and Graphic Anatomy 2 (TOTO Publishing, 2007 and 2014), Commonalities (LIXIL Publishing, 2014), and Behaviorology (Rizzoli, 2010). Since 2015, Tsukamoto has been a professor at the Tokyo Institute of Technology and, since 2017, a visiting professor at the Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation.

M+ 思考:Archigram城市網上研討會
與香港大學建築學院合辦

第二部分:具象呈現
日期:2020年11月6日(星期五)
時間:香港時間晚上7時30分至9時30分
語言:英語
活動平台:Zoom

立即報名

 

Peter Cook(Archigram),「插接城市」俯視圖,1964年,M+,香港,© ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESPeter Cook(Archigram),「插接城市」俯視圖,1964年,M+,香港,©ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

-GRAM
李涵

繪造社認為Archigram最大的影響在於他們展示了建築繪圖深具潛力。建築繪圖不僅是設計工具,還可變成媒介,透過雜誌和圖像小說等傳播形式,促使建築跨越專業的界限,走進大眾文化之中。這群建築師在1960年代破格探索未來想像和建築環境的可能性,繪造社受其啟發,以建築繪圖為創作實踐的重心,將現實世界的現象轉化為用於敘事或批判的數碼圖像,並在網上世界傳播。繪造社為「Archigram城市」研討會創作了一系列繪圖,將Archigram的項目與其他建築師的城市設計及亞洲都市空間中的日常建築並置,重新演繹Archigram就當代都市環境而構想的前衛概念,呈現一系列探討過去與現在、夢想與現實,以及建築界內外的視覺對話。

李涵是繪造社創始合伙人,他以敘事式的數碼繪圖為媒介,提出具批判性的視角探索住屋、城市及都市環境。他的作品糅合普普藝術、後現代主義和當代流行文化的影響,描畫都市景觀。他是2018年世界建築節建築繪圖獎的總冠軍,該獎項由世界建築節、約翰・索恩爵士博物館及Make建築師合辦。他的著作包括《一點兒北京》(同濟大學出版社,2013)、《一點兒北京・大柵欄》(同濟大學出版社,2015)以及《胡同蘑菇》(中國建築工業出版社,2018)。他畢業於中國北京中央美術學院和澳洲皇家墨爾本理工大學。


 

Ron Herron (Archigram),「即時馬來西亞」,馬來西亞模擬裝置拼貼圖,1973年,M+,香港,© ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESRon Herron(Archigram),「即時馬來西亞」,馬來西亞模擬裝置拼貼圖,1973年,M+,香港,©ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

帶上天氣同行:英聯邦學院中的馬來西亞展品
賴啟健

1969年5月到1971年2月間,馬來西亞政府幾近癱瘓。當時該國正經歷立國以來最嚴重的種族暴亂,導致數千人死亡,國會亦暫停運作。副首相敦拉薩隨後執掌政權,最後成為首相。修補這歷史裂痕需要數十年的時間,但時至今日政府還沒有為新一代提出官方解釋,或建造任何紀念碑。與此同時,倫敦的英聯邦學院也處於過渡時期。其前身帝國學院於1887年成立,作用是評估和管理來自殖民地的事物,及後在新理事會治下,重組為更低調的「前殖民地俱樂部」,這就如英聯邦是代替大英帝國的事物一樣。新大樓設有三層展廳,沿用帝國的版圖思路來分層佈局。馬來西亞既不在非洲,也不在前英國自治領地之列,故展覽設於最頂層。英聯邦學院於1964年舉辦的馬來西亞展覽只有資訊板和模型,敦拉薩內閣認為過於簡陋。而在暴亂之後,政府急需重塑並向世界展示國家形象,亦需在石油危機逼近時保持經濟競爭力。Archigram於1972年接受馬來西亞政府的展覽設計委約,他們曾設計多個展現「即時國家」概念的項目,在場地上嫁接「由資訊、娛樂與『從玩樂認識自己』的設施所組成的網絡」空間,這展覽項目貫徹了他們的理念和做法。本演講追溯「即時馬來西亞」的軌跡,論證超大圖、文字、透視畫,尤其是天氣模擬器如何能同時滿足這群建築師和其客戶的期望,以及展覽終於摒棄過往英國有關馬來亞/馬來西亞的展覽中,明顯採用虛構和刻板式文化形態的做法。

賴啟健是新加坡建築和城市歷史學者兼註冊建築師。他於1996年取得新加坡國立大學建築學的研究碩士學位,並於2005年獲加州大學柏克萊分校的建築與都市設計史博士學位。他的著作包括《Building Merdeka:Independence Architecture in Kuala Lumpur,1957—1966》(Galeri Petronas,2007)、《Building Memories: People, Architecture, Independence》(Achates 360,2016,獲新加坡圖書獎年度最佳圖書獎),以及與洪志忠合著的《The Merdeka Interviews: Architects, Engineers and Artists of Malaysia’s Independence》(Pertubuhan Akitek Malaysia,2018)。其研究關注東南亞的藝術、建築、定居、城市規劃和景觀的歷史。


 

Peter Cook(Archigram),Hedgerow Village,1971年,M+,香港,© ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVESPeter Cook(Archigram),Hedgerow Village,1971年,M+,香港,©ARCHIGRAM ARCHIVES

向Archigram學習
塚本由晴

Archigram以挪用圖像視覺化手法為工具,拓展建築呈現方式的界限。此外,他們的另一重要貢獻在於改變了我們對空間創造的時間和規模觀念,並將之加以傳揚,此空間包括地球乃至個人層面。1960和1970年代的衛星廣播浪潮和日益普及的全球化,觸發Archigram思考地球一體、社會和人類的關係,促使他們探索移動、可替換及短暫的建築和都市現象。Archigram透過「Walking City」、「Capsule Homes」和「即時城市」提出這些探索,試圖將建築項目的重心從社區轉移到個人。雖然日本代謝派建築師的設計亦有納入這些元素,但他們是出於都市效率和實用主義而關注個體性,而非為重塑人們對於時間和規模大小的觀念。本演講旨在將犬吠工作室的實踐,尤其是它融入社會現實、人類行為與大自然的建築設計方法論,視為由Archigram和代謝派作品參與塑造的全球現代建築史的一部分。

塚本由晴是建築師兼東京犬吠工作室的創辦人之一。工作室於1992年成立,以行為學理論為本,探討建築設計、都市研究,以及公共空間創建等範疇。工作室曾於日本和世界各地參與不同類型的項目。塚本由晴曾參加多個展覽,包括於羅馬MAXXI美術館、倫敦巴比肯中心及東京國立近代美術館舉辦的「The Japanese House: Architecture and Life after 1945」(2017)、第三屆伊斯坦堡設計雙年展(2016)、第十五屆威尼斯建築雙年展(2016)、柏林世界文化宮的「Wohnungsfrage」(2015)和芝加哥建築雙年展(2015)。他著有《Graphic Anatomy》(TOTO出版,2007)和《Graphic Anatomy 2》(TOTO出版,2014)、《Commonalities》(LIXIL出版,2014)和《Behaviorology》(Rizzoli,2010)。塚本由晴自2015年起於東京工業大學擔任教授,並自2017年起擔任哥倫比亞大學建築、規劃和歷史保護研究院客座教授。