Siu Wai Hang | Tang Kwok Hin | Kacey Wong

Participating artist: Siu Wai Hang

Siu Wai Hang

Created by artist Siu Wai Hang, the photo installation Disappearing Over the Decades turns M+ Rover into a collecting unit, tasked with traversing Hong Kong in search of items that are at risk of disappearing over the next fifty years. Siu prompts participants to reflect on unobserved changes within our daily lives by asking them to select the most important ‘future artefacts’, tangible or intangible, that they predict will disappear in Hong Kong. After a process of discussion and deliberation, the final selected items will be documented and displayed through videos of developing Polaroids, still negative images and written prediction of their cause of disappearance. Reversing color and time in the process, Siu manipulates the images to draw on the irreversibilty of disappearance and the visual representation of loss. Siu explores essential qualities of photography such as temporality, visibility and subjectivity in this work, and draws our attention to things that are disappearing gradually and quietly in our lives.

Photographer Siu Wai Hang holds a Bachelor of Arts in Creative Media from School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong. He earned his Master of Fine Arts from Department of Fine Arts, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. He won the 2013/14 and 2015/16 WYNG Masters Award. His solo exhibitions include The Elusive, Lumenvisum (2015) and Metropolis Chlorophyll, K11 (2010). He has exhibited in a number of group shows, including two WYNG Masters Award Exhibitions – Identity, Hong Kong Central Library (2016), GASP!, Hong Kong Polytechnic University (2014); Pingyao International Photography Festival 2013; Hong Kong Contemporary Art Awards 2012, Hong Kong Museum of Art (2013). His work is in the collections of The Legislative Council of Hong Kong, The Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong, and private collectors. He lives and works in Hong Kong and teaches at various art institutes and universities.

Participating artist: Tang Kwok Hin

Tang Kwok Hin

Taking Cantonese slang as an inspiration, artist
Tang Kwok Hin creates an installation, Look at You (ciu4 ciu4 lei5), on M+ Rover, devising 15 characters from different fields in our daily life. By examining slang emerged from modern communication tools
and social media, Tang reflects on how language frames our perspectives and habits. The work displays collaborative efforts resulting from the artist-led workshops in schools, which includes creative audio, visual, and text responses, as well as daily objects and other materials that accumulate through the run of the project.  

Tang Kwok Hin is a mixed media artist, independent curator, and writer. He received his Master of Fine Arts from the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2008 and Bachelor of Arts (major in Fine Arts) in 2006. His art focuses on space, time, and symbols; he explores hidden rules of life and existence in his work. He participated in the 15th WRO Media Art Biennale (2013); Hong Kong Contemporary Art Biennial Awards (2009); and the Discoveries section of the first Art Basel in Hong Kong with a solo presentation. His work has been exhibited at Ice Palace, United States; Osthaus Museum Hagen, Germany; Singapore Art Museum; Venice Arsenale, Italy; Hong Kong Museum of Art; and Museum of Contemporary Art, Taipei, Taiwan. He received first prize at the Hong Kong Contemporary Art Biennial (2009); won the Hong Kong Arts Development Award for Young Artist (2010); and received an Asian Cultural Council grant (2013). His work is in the collections of Hong Kong Museum of Art, Hong Kong Heritage Museum, and in private collections around the world.

M+ Rover design: Kacey Wong

Kacey Wong

Kacey Wong studied architecture in Cornell University and received his Master of Fine Arts degree from Chelsea School of Art and Design and Doctor of Fine Arts Degree from Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. Wong curated many art exhibitions exploring issues of space and city: Home (1999), Personal Skyscraper (2000), City Space (2001) and Drift City (2001, 2002 and 2010), etc. Since 2000, he started his Drift City photo series, in which he dressed up as a skyscraper, travelling between cities in search of a utopia, and published the album Drift City 10 Years (2010). His tricycle house project Wandering Homes was selected to represent Hong Kong at the Venice Architectural Biennale 2008. He received the Artist of the Year Award (2010), the Rising Artist Award and Award for Arts Education (2003) from the Hong Kong Arts Development Council.

蕭偉恒 | 鄧國騫 | 黃國才

參與藝術家:蕭偉恒

Siu Wai Hang

藝術家蕭偉恒所創作的攝影裝置作品消失於未來幾個十年把「M+ 敢探號」轉化為一個收藏小組,它將會穿梭香港各區,搜集在未來五十年間瀕臨消失的東西。他邀請參加者透過討論,選取最重要的「未來文物」,不論是有形或無形的東西,提醒他們細察日常生活中常被忽略的變化。這些「文物」會以不同方式被存檔及展示,包括即影即有相片於顯影過程的錄像、負片影像及參加者所撰寫的預計消失原因。藝術家在過程中把影像的色彩和時序倒轉過來,試圖突顯「消失」是不可逆轉的,並以視覺元素呈現「消逝」這概念。他透過這件作品,探索攝影的基本特質,如時間性、可見性及主觀性,提醒我們留意生活中正無聲無息地消失的東西。

蕭偉恒為香港城市大學創意媒體學院文學士,並於香港中文大學取得藝術碩士學位。他曾獲得 2013/14 及 2015/16 年 WYNG 大師攝影獎。他的個人展覽包括「捉不到的」(光影作坊,2015 年)及「逐『綠』都市」(K11,2010 年)。他曾參與不同聯展,包括 WYNG 大師攝影獎作品展 ──「我們是誰」(香港中央圖書館, 2016 年) 及「GASP!」(香港理工大學,2014 年)、中國平遙國際攝影大展(平遙,2013 年)及香港當代藝術獎 2012(香港藝術館,2013 年)。作品為香港立法會、香港半島酒店及私人藏家收藏。現居香港及於各大專院校教授藝術。

參與藝術家:鄧國騫

Tang Kwok Hin

藝術家鄧國騫在「M+ 敢探號」的裝置作品《潮潮俚》以不同年代的俚語為靈感, 設計 15 個來自日常生活中不同行業的角色。 他透過審視衍生自現代通訊工具或社交 媒體的俚語及潮語,反思語言如何塑造 觀點及習慣。作品將展示由鄧國騫帶領的 校內工作坊的成果,包括學生具創意的聲音、 圖像及文字的回應等,亦包含日常物件及 其他在計劃中累積的素材。

鄧國騫,混合媒介藝術家、兼從事獨立策展及寫作。2008 及 2006 年分別取得香港中文大學藝術系藝術碩士及文學士。其作品常以拼貼手法重組社會日常符號,並藉想像力重新建構新的閱讀方式,透露出對人、物及事的種種情懷。曾參與第十五屆波蘭媒體藝術雙年展、2009 年香港當代藝術雙年獎、第一屆香港巴塞爾藝術博覽會「藝術探新」展區個展等,亦曾於美國邁亞密冰宮、德國奥斯特豪斯博物館、新加坡美術館、意大利威利斯兵工廠、香港藝術館、台北當代藝術館等地方參與展覽。曾獲香港當代藝術雙年獎優秀獎(2009年)、香港藝術發展獎藝術新秀獎(視覺藝術)(2010年)及亞洲文化協會獎助金(2013年)。作品為香港藝術館、香港文化博物館及世界各地私人收藏家收藏。

M+ 敢探號」設計: 黃國才

Kacey Wong

藝術家黃國才為美國康奈爾大學建築藝系學士、英國卻爾西大學雕塑碩士及澳洲皇家墨爾本理工大學藝術博士。曾策劃及展出多個以空間和城市為主題的展覽:「屋企」(1999 年)、「我的摩天大樓」(2000 年)、「都市空間」(2001 年)、「遊離都市」(2001、2002 及 2010 年)等。自 2000 年開始其「遊離都市」攝影系列,穿著摩天大樓衣服於世界各地尋找烏托邦,並出版《遊離都市十年》相片集(2010 年)。其設計的一人居所三輪車屋《流浪家居》於2008年獲選代表香港參加意大利威尼斯建築雙年展。曾獲香港藝術發展局授予年度藝術家獎(2010 年)、藝術新進獎及優秀藝術教育獎(2003 年)。