City Limits / Unlimited City
Ulanda Blair
Curator, Moving Image

The invention and proliferation of camera technologies in the late 19th century occurred in parallel with the burgeoning of the modern metropolis. It’s little wonder then, that many of the earliest, and most iconic images from the history of cinema feature cities or urban environments—think of the Lumière Brothers, first ‘actuality’ films, such as The Arrival of a Train at La Ciotat Station, and Workers Leaving The Lumière Factory in Lyon, both from 1895. Even the foundation story of video art has Nam June Paik taking his newly-purchased Portapak camera onto the crowded streets of New York to document the traffic jams and urban disruptions surrounding Pope Paul VI’s visit in 1965.

The patterns and rhythms of urban culture have certainly proved rich inspiration for generations of artists and filmmakers, and not just in the West. M+ Screenings: City Limits considers the 21st-century transformation and urbanisation of Asia, particularly China, through the eyes of fifteen moving-image artists based in the region. Representing the fast-changing realities of urban experience in an increasingly homogenous yet fragmented world, these artists reframe urban space, positioning it not just as the backdrop or setting for action, but as a potent catalyst of history, memory and belonging.

City Limits opens with five short videos by artists working in China’s Pearl River Delta (PRD) at the beginning of the 21st century.  According to the World Bank, the PRD has witnessed the most rapid urban expansion in human history. Encompassing nine mainland cities in the province of Guangdong, notably Shenzhen and Guangzhou, as well as the special administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau, this megacity was predominantly an agricultural region up until the late 1970s before it metamorphosed into China’s manufacturing heartland. With a population of over 66 million, the PRD is now the world’s largest continuous city, both in terms of population and geographical footprint. 

Given this momentous physical and social transformation, it is hardly surprising that the artists of the PRD should take the city as their major source of creative inspiration. Hou Hanru, the original curator of Canton Express at the 2003 Venice Biennale, once described the region as a “special laboratory of modernity.” Indeed, the contemporary artists who emerged onto the international scene at this time embraced ideas of urban anthropology, community-building, collaborative practice, ephemeral action, and interventions into public space. Crucially, these artists positioned the PRD as both a global city—one transcending locality and temporality—as well as a city with stubborn local and temporal anchors. The five videos by Xu Tan, Jiang Zhi, Chen Shaoxiong, Cao Fei, and Zhou Tao that open City Limits, all attest to this unique Cantonese subjectivity, showing tradition, innovation, collective memory and local meaning embedded within this globalised megacity.    

San Yuan Li (2003), a pioneering film made by Ou Ning, Cao Fei and the U-thèque film collective, harnesses the agility and flexibility of digital video to help convey the vitality, pace and effervescence of 21st-century urban Guangzhou. This 40-minute black-and-white film is a contemporary reimagining of the European ‘city symphony’ films of the 1920s and 1930s, combining rapid montages, extreme angles, dynamic camera movements and jagged pacing to document the besieged ‘urban village’ of San Yuan Li, an encircled neighbourhood of Guangzhou continuing to uphold its own rhythms, systems and rural social structures in the face of mass urbanisation.

Surreal juxtapositions of realism and fiction permeate the City Limits programme. From the melancholic symbolism of a dripping moon and the human-shaped smoke clouds in Gao Yuan’s short animation Lunar Dial (2016), to the building that launches itself like a rocket into the night sky in Jia Zhangke’s poetic drama Still Life (2006), these perplexing, irrational scenarios highlight the surreality of the true events depicted—in the latter film, the demolition and subsequent flooding of a region rich in ancient cultural heritage, and home to over a million people, for China’s Three Gorges Dam project. 

Documentary is another dominant thread in City Limits. Amid China’s epochal transformations over the past two decades, many filmmakers have worked outside the state media apparatus to provide bold alternative visions of contemporary Chinese society and filmmaking. With an ethos based on direct observation of reality and uncensored personal expression, films like Living Elsewhere (1999) by Wang Jianwei, and The Chinese Mayor (2015) by Zhou Hao, tell of China’s dispossessed peoples living in the fringes between ruin and utopia. These films take an unflinching look at the depredations and hardships of communities displaced either by overdevelopment (Living Elsewhere), or else in the name of strategic government-led cultural revitalisation (The Chinese Mayor), yet they also reveal celebratory moments of resistance. Shining a light on China’s provincial cities, they capture the complexities, contradictions and collisions of progress, politics, corruption, and citizens’ rights. 

Moving beyond China, City Limits also ventures into Hong Kong and South East Asia, to further consider localised experiences of urbanisation, and their representation on screen. Tsai Ming-Liang’s Walker (2012) and Joao Vasco Paiva’s Threshold (2013) highlight Hong Kong’s visual density and speed, albeit in radically different ways. Walker contrasts the chaos and growth of the city against the monk’s withdrawn meditative movements, his self-contained gestures suggesting imperviousness to Hong Kong’s perpetual race against time. In Threshold, the Hong Kong streets are stripped of all excessive sensory stimuli, their blank white geometries becoming palimpsests onto which speculative new visions of ‘Asia’s World City’ might be projected.

Davy Chou’s Diamond Island (2016), a coming-of-age film set in Phnom Penh, reveals a Cambodia in transition, with all the societal growing pains that such change entails. Long shots of the city, with the luxurious Diamond Island housing estate in the background, capture Cambodia’s youth dominated by their socially-stratified surroundings. 

City Limits concludes with two documentaries that consider urbanisation’s influence on South East Asia, and the symbolic power of cultural artefacts. Lee Wan’s video Made In Myanmar (2014) documents the three weeks he worked at a Chinese-owned goldmine, to help connect him personally to the individuals and traditions that are exploited every day by global socioeconomic forces. Tan Pin Pin’s In Time to Come (2017) follows the exhuming and compilation of an official time capsule, using the film to self-reflexively preserve an alternative history of Singapore today. Tan’s cinematically excavated and reconstructed spaces of Singapore represent new histories and memories that exert their own power over historical time. In the words of anthropologist David Harvey: If it is true that time is always memorialised not as flow, but as memories of experienced places and spaces, then history must indeed give way to poetry, time to space, as the fundamental material of social expression.”[1]

[1] David Harvey, The Condition of Postmodernity, Cambridge and Oxford: Blackwell, 1990, p. 202.

城市有限 / 無限城市
Ulanda Blair
策展人 
流動影像

十九世紀末攝錄機技術的發展和普及程度,與現代大都會的增長速度可說是同步並進。正因如此,電影史上最早期及最具代表性的作品,皆以城市或都市環境為題材。盧米埃兄弟早期的「現實電影」,如1895年的《火車進站》及《離開工廠》,即捕捉和記錄了城市實況;錄像藝術之父白南準,亦於1965年提着他首部手提攝錄機,走進擁擠的紐約市街道,拍下當時教宗保羅六世出巡所造成交通堵塞和城市癱瘓的畫面。

都市文化的模式和節奏,一直是許多藝術家和電影工作者的靈感來源,而這情況不僅發生在西方國家。「M+放映:城市界限」 嘗試以15位亞洲流動影像藝術家的視野,放眼21世紀經歷都市發展和轉型的亞洲地區,當中尤以中國為主。城市空間在這些電影和錄像中成為了主角,而非一個為推展劇情而構建的背景或場景。藝術家透過鏡頭,在越趨同步但分裂的世界中,捕捉瞬息萬變的都市生活,把城市空間重構成一個盛載歷史、記憶和歸屬感的場域。

「M+放映:城市界限」以五部短片揭開帷幕,它們都是由曾在21世紀初珠江三角洲(珠三角)地區工作的藝術家所創作。根據世界銀行的數據顯示,珠三角是人類歷史上經歷了最急速都市發展的城市。這個超級城市覆蓋廣東省內九個城市,包括廣州和深圳,再加上香港和澳門這兩個特別行政區等,大部分地區在七十年代末前主要從事農業,後來改革成中國製造業的心臟地帶。這裏的人口高達6600萬,就人口和地理發展而言,都是全球最大的發展中城市。

珠三角在地理和社會層面的重大轉變,令置身其中的藝術家無法忽視,甚至成為他們創作的重心。2003年侯瀚如在威尼斯雙年展策展「廣東快車」時,即把珠三角形容為一個「研究現代性的特別實驗空間」。事實上,當時擠身國際的當代藝術家,無不推崇都市人類學、社區建設、合作實踐、短暫行動,及介入公共空間等想法。重要的是,這些藝術家既把珠三角定位為一個超越地域和時間的世界城市,同時又深陷於地域和時間窒礙的城市。徐坦、蔣志、陳劭雄、曹斐和周滔這五位藝術家的錄像,體現了這種廣東主體的特質,正如珠三角這個環球超級城市到處散發着的傳統、創新、集體記憶和地方意義一樣。

歐寧、曹斐和由電影工作者和電影人組成的「緣影會」,利用數碼影像的敏捷性和靈活性,拍攝出充分演繹21世紀廣州市的活力、節拍和熱血沸騰的《三元里》(2003)。這部40分鐘的黑白電影,是當代對二十到三十年代歐洲「城市交響曲」電影的一種重新闡釋。透過快速的蒙太奇剪辑、極端的拍攝角度、擺動的鏡頭和起伏的節奏,記錄和探討三元里這條位於廣州邊陲的城中村,如何在廣州如火如荼的都市發展下,依舊能保持自己的節奏、系統和農村社會結構。

「城市界限」放映的作品,均游移於現實與虛構之間。由高源的動畫短片《月晷》(2016)中那道象徵憂鬱的彎月和那抹人形的煙圈,至賈樟柯充滿詩意的劇情片《三峽好人》(2006)中那幢在黑夜中宛如一道火箭的建築,這些欲語還休的元素均揭示了現實中的超現實性。在《三峽好人》中,三峽大壩導致過百萬人的家和千年的文化遺產頓埋水底的一幕,更是絕佳的體現。

紀錄片亦是這次放映的重點。在中國過去二十年的劃時代轉變中,很多電影工作者都在國家媒體圈以外工作,為當代中國社會和電影提供另一種視野。如汪建偉的《生活在別處》(1999)和周浩的《大同》(2015)等,均傳達了一種直接觀察現實生活和不審查個人表述的精神。兩部電影都記載了那些飽受剝奪的人民在廢墟和烏托邦之間的生活,在矢志揭示這些地區所遭受的掠奪和苦難的同時,又慶祝他們反抗勝利的時刻。電影讓生活在這些中國地區的羣體能被外界探見,並展示出箇中因發展、政治、腐敗和公民權利問題所造成的複雜、矛盾和衝突。

中國以外,「城市界限」亦將探索香港和其它東南亞地區,審視都市發展對當地生活的影響,以及這些影響如何呈現在銀幕上。蔡明亮的《行者》(2012)和周奧的《臨界》(2013),以截然不同的手法展示香港的視覺密度和速度。前者把香港錯綜複雜的街道和冥想中的僧侶並置,僧侶悠然自得的姿態彷彿和這個爭分奪秒的香港時空割裂;後者則透過移除香港街頭廣告招牌上的所有視覺元素,以素白的幾何形狀推敲「亞洲國際都會」可能引申的新景象。

另一邊廂,周戴維的《鑽石島》(2016)是一部以金邊為主角的影像預言書,揭示柬埔寨因社會發展伴隨而來的痛苦。綿密的長鏡頭加上高尚住宅林立的鑽石島,捕捉柬埔寨青年如何被社會和資產階級所操控。

「城市界限」以兩部思考都市發展對東南亞地區,和文化藝術象徵符號的影響的作品作結。李完的《緬甸製造》(2014)記錄他在緬甸北部一家由中國人持有的金礦工作三星期的點滴,親身體會環球的社會經濟力量每天對個人生活和傳統的剝削和改造。陳彬彬的《終有一天》(2017)則跟隨着一個由政府封存的時間囊,透過其開啟儀式作自我反思,描繪出一段新加坡的平行歷史。陳彬彬以戲劇手法發掘和重構新加坡的空間,反映新歷史和回憶對固有歷史所產生的一定影響。人類學家大衛哈維的說話,正好作為這次放映的註腳:「如果時間在記憶中不是流動的,而是人們曾經經歷過的時空,那麼歷史必須讓位於詩歌,時間讓位於空間,讓詩和空間作為社會表達的基本元素。」[1]

[1] 原文出自:大衛哈維,《後現代性的條件》,劍橋和牛津:Blackwell,1990,頁202