Back to "M+ Screenings: City Limits" overview

 

San Yuan Li

5 Aug (Sat),3:30pm

Post-screening discussion with co-director Ou Ning
San Yuan Li (2003)
41 min, Cantonese and Putonghua with Chinese and English subtitles, Digital, China

The San Yuan Li villagers’ 1841 revolt against the British Army during the First Opium War is widely considered a revolutionary example of Chinese anti-colonial action. In 2003, the Guangzhou-based film and video collective U-thèque documented contemporary San Yuan Li, a Guangzhou neighbourhood experiencing drug problems and social dysfunction, which was targeted for major government social reform.

Ou Ning (Chinese, b.1969) is a multidisciplinary arts practitioner and social activist. His films and artworks are the product of his urban research. Informed by his advocacy of ruralism in China, his work documents how urbanisation, the environment and its inhabitants intersect.

Cao Fei (Chinese, b.1978) is a Beijing-based visual artist and filmmaker. She works within a range of mediums including film, performance, and installation to create works that often meld fictional scenarios with contemporary Chinese realities.

M+ Sigg Collection

Venue

See also

返回「M+ 放映:城市界限」

 

三元里

8月5日(星期六)下午3時30分

聯合導演歐寧將出席映後座談
三元里 (2003)
41分鐘,廣東話及普通話對白,中、英文字幕,數碼,中國

1841年鴉片戰爭爆發,居於廣州三元里的村民羣起抗英,被視為中國民間反抗殖民侵略的先鋒。2003年,駐廣州的電影和錄像組織「緣影會」將鏡頭聚焦在現代的三元里,這條城中村因為毒品氾濫和治安惡劣,令政府的社會改革工作困難重重。

歐寧(中國,生於1969年)是一位跨界別藝術工作者和社運人士。其電影和藝術作品往往總結了他對都市的研究。他擁護鄉建項目,所以其作品也常記錄都市發展、環境和當地原居民之間的衝突。

曹斐(中國,生於1978年)是一位駐北京的視覺藝術家和影像工作者。她的作品涵蓋不同媒介如電影、表演和裝置,構建出融合當代中國實況的虛擬場景。

M+希克藏品

查看更多

地點

相關內容