Back to "M+ Screenings: Visible Places" overview

She Said Why Me / Sylvia Kristel – Paris / 24 City

16 Jan (Sat), 3:00pm

She Said Why Me (1989)
May Fung, 8 min., digital, Hong Kong

A woman travels, blindfolded, from an ancient countryside temple to a bustling city. Her surroundings change, but her sense of unease lingers. The director uses a distinctively female perspective to combine the past and present, expressing a sense of anxiety that permeated Hong Kong during that particular moment in time.

May Fung (Hong Kong, born 1952) is a filmmaker, video artist, curator, and critic. Her works are personal and political, touching upon issues such as gender, environment, and cultural landscape. She works in moving image, installation, and performance, and she has also worked with the theatre as an experimental platform.
Sylvia Kristel – Paris (2003)
Manon de Boer, 39 min., French with English subtitles, digital, Belgium

Sylvia Kristel, who starred in the title role of the classic French erotic film Emmanuelle, shares stories from her life in Paris during interviews conducted in 2001 and 2002. Her narration, in the style of a personal essay, records the passage of time as she grows from a naive girl to a mature woman. Meanwhile, the camera lingers on everyday scenes of Paris.

Manon de Boer (Dutch, born 1966) is an artist and filmmaker based in Brussels. Her films are portraits of actors, dancers and musicians; she intersects personal narrations with musical elements to reveal and interrogate the ideas of time and truth.

Courtesy of Manon de Boer
24 City (2008)
Jia Zhangke, 112 min., Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles, DCP, China/Hong Kong/Japan

This film uses nine interviews, some real and some fictional, to explore processes of historic change. Factory 420 is being demolished and replaced by a large-scale apartment complex. Three generations of workers, who have experienced personal transformations and tumultuous upheavals in Chinese society, reflect on the scars and memories that define their relationship with the city they live in.

Jia Zhangke(Chinese, born 1970) is a filmmaker based in Beijing. His films document and reveal changes within ordinary Chinese cities and people undergoing dramatic social transformation. Together, these narratives tell a poignant story of his native land whilst resonating with the modern-day human condition.

Courtesy of Xstream Pictures (Beijing) Limited, Shanghai Film Group Co.,Ltd., China Resources (Holdings) Co.,Ltd

See more

Venue

See also

返回「M+放映:形之所在概覽

她說為何是我施維亞.姬絲桃 ── 巴黎 及 二十四城記

1月16日 (星期六)下午3時

她說為何是我 (1989)
馮美華,8分鐘,數碼,香港

蒙著雙眼的她,從鄉郊古廟到鬧市塵囂,周遭的環境轉了又轉,不安感卻一直縈繞。導演以獨有的女性視角,剪接古往今來女性行走的片段,以視覺化的手法呈現當時港人徬徨焦慮的狀態。

馮美華 (香港,生於1952年)是一名影像工作者、錄像藝術家、策展人和藝評人。她通過影像、裝置、表演和實驗劇場等不同領域的創作,以既個人又政治化的視角,觸及性別、環境、文化景觀等諸多議題。
施維亞.姬絲桃──巴黎 (2003)
曼諾.德波爾,39分鐘,法語對白,英文字幕,數碼,比利時

法國經典情色片《艾曼妞》的女主角施維亞.姬絲桃,先後於2001與2002年,以自述的形式訴說她在巴黎的生活點滴。散文式的風格以聲音紀錄著時光的流逝,從懵懂到成熟,鏡頭下的巴黎卻依然是一片日常的風光。

曼諾.德波爾 (荷蘭,生於1966年)是一名居於布魯塞爾的藝術家和影像工作者。她帶有紀錄色彩的影像作品經常以演員、舞者和演奏者為題材,混合自身的敘述和各種音樂元素,揭示並質問時間和真理的概念。

鳴謝:Manon de Boer
二十四城記 (2008)
賈樟柯,112分鐘,普通話對白,中文和英文字幕,DCP,中國/香港/日本

透過九個真實與虛構的訪談,探索成都420工廠由兵工廠至被收購發展成大型住宅項目的歷史變遷過程。經歷了中國社會劇烈的轉型和自身地位的轉變,三代的工人將自身與城市間的記憶和痕跡娓娓道來。

賈樟柯 (中國,生於1970年)現居北京。他的電影講述了一個關於中國這片土地的悲愴故事,紀錄和揭示了中國的城市和人民現正面臨的社會巨變,同時也與當今全球的人類社會產生了一種共鳴。

鳴謝:北京西河星匯影業有限公司

查看更多

地點

相關內容