Back to "M+ Screenings: Visible Places" overview

The Shortcut to the Systematic Life: City Spirits / Miami / La Town

17 Jan (Sun), 2:00pm

The Shortcut to the Systematic Life: City Spirits (2005)
Tsui Kuang-Yu, 8 min., digital, Taiwan

Bowling in a city street; waving a race-track chequered flag on a busy road; Tsui Kuang-Yu uses these ostensibly senseless actions in London and Taipei to explore and subvert preconceptions about cities and everyday life.

Tsui Kuang-Yu (Taiwanese, born 1974) is a video artist based in Taipei. He often engages with the everyday in his work, investigating the relationships between people and their living environments by challenging and reinterpreting accustomed norms.
 
Miami (2002)
Sarah Morris, 27 min., digital, USA

The camera pans across Miami's car washes, hotels, supermarkets, beaches, and factories. This film presents the architecture and landscape of the city, and its sober and slow-burning visual style is accompanied by rich and rhythmic electronic music. The result is a film that uses a multi-faceted subjectivity to analyse the psychological state of the city of Miami.

Sarah Morris (American, born 1967) is a painter and filmmaker based in New York. She is best known for her geometric, abstract paintings and films that interrogate the architectural and psychological landscapes of major cities, including New York, Miami, and Beijing.

© Sarah Morris. Courtesy White Cube
 
La Town (2014)
Cao Fei, 42 min., French with English subtitles, DCP, China

La Town is a futuristic city depicted with miniature plastic models and toys at a 1:87 scale to reality. The artist Cao Fei pairs this fictitious micro-world with classic dialogue from Alain Resnais's Hiroshima Mon Amour. The result is a reimagined narrative of a city's past and non-existent future, as well as its enigmatic history across time.

Cao Fei (Chinese, born 1978) is a Beijing-based visual artist and filmmaker. She works within a range of mediums including film, performance, and installation to create works that often juxtapose fictional qualities with urban modern Chinese realities.

Courtesy of Cao Fei and Vitamin Creative Space
The dialogue made reference to French film Hiroshima Mon Amour (1957), director Alain Resnais, screenplay by Marguerite Duras

La Town has been classified as a Category III film, only viewers who are 18 years old or above will be admitted.

See more

Venue

See also

返回「M+放映:形之所在概覽

系統生活捷徑:城市精神、邁阿密 及 La Town

1月17日 (星期日)下午2時

系統生活捷徑:城市精神 (2005)
崔廣宇,8分鐘,數碼,臺灣

在城市的街道上打保齡球、在繁忙的馬路上揮動賽車場上常見的黑白格子棋;崔廣宇在倫敦和臺北兩地,透過這些看似無聊的舉動,重新探索並癲覆了大眾對城市與日常生活的固有想像。

崔廣宇(台灣,生於1974年)是一名居住於台北的錄像藝術家。其作品涉獵日常生活的題材,通過挑戰和重釋陳規習見,探索人類及其居住環境之間的關係。
邁阿密 (2002)
莎拉‧莫里斯,27分鐘,數碼,美國

鏡頭掠過邁阿密的洗車場、酒店、超級市場、海灘和工廠,影片以獨特的視覺重新呈現城市的建築和景觀。冷靜又沈穩的影像風格混合著節拍豐富的電子音樂, 以主觀的多面向剖析著邁阿密這個城市的心理狀態。

莎拉‧莫里斯(美國,生於1967年)是一名於紐約生活的畫家和影像工作者。她以幾何而抽象的繪畫和影像作品探索世界主要城市,如紐約、邁阿密和北京等地的建築和心理景觀。

© Sarah Morris. Courtesy White Cube
La Town (2014)
曹斐,42分鐘,法語對白,英文字幕,DCP,中國

影片中名為La Town的末世城鎮全由微形的塑膠人物與場景建構而成。在這個與現實比例為1:87 的虛擬世界裡,藝術家引用阿倫雷奈的《廣島之戀》中的經典對白,重複地描述著一座城市的過去與命運,以及時空漂移下它像謎一般的存在和歷史。

曹斐(中國,生於1978年)是一名現居北京的視覺藝術家和影像工作者。她通過影像、表演、裝置等媒介,以虛構的元素探索現今中國城市的現實風貌。

Courtesy of Cao Fei and Vitamin Creative Space
The dialogue made reference to French film Hiroshima Mon Amour (1957), director Alain Resnais, screenplay by Marguerite Duras

《La Town》被評定為第三級電影,只准年滿 18 歲人士入場觀看。

查看更多

地點

相關內容